Click to Home
Home   •   Print   •   Email   •   Contact Us
Go To Search
Click to Home

Online Services
Stay Connected
Business Tax Division
Business Licenses
Chapter 530 of the Public Acts of 2009 amended the Tennessee Business Tax Act. Effective January 1, 2010, this chapter states that all businesses operating within Shelby County are required to obtain a business license and report their gross receipts to the Tennessee Department of Revenue on an annual basis.

All businesses will continue to register with the County Clerk's Office within 20 days after commencement of business to receive a business license. If the business is operating within a municipality, a separate city business license is required. A remittance of $15 must be submitted with each application. The annual business tax return will be filed on updated tax forms with the Department of Revenue.

Additional information is available on the Tennessee Department of Revenue website or by contacting them directly at (800) 342-1003. To view a list of all applicable licensing forms and printable information sheets, visit our business licenses page.

Exemptions
The following businesses are exempt from the above regulations:
  • Accountants
  • Attorneys
  • Businesses that gross less than $3,000 per year
  • Dentists
  • Doctors
  • Insurance agents
  • Loan companies
  • Manufacturers
  • Public utilities
  • Religious organizations
  • Schools
  • Security exchanges
  • Veterinarians
Contact
Business Tax Division

Downtown Office
150 Washington Ave.
Second Floor
Memphis, TN 38103
Ph: (901) 222-3059

East Branch Office
1075 Mullins Station Rd. 
West Wing
Memphis TN 38134
Ph: (901) 222-6960
Hours
Downtown Office
Monday - Friday
8:30 am - 4:15 pm

East Branch Office
Monday - Friday
9:00 am - 5:15 pm
Additional Resources

Vasco A. Smith, Jr. County Administration Building • (901) 222-2300
160 North Main Street Memphis TN 38103
SitemapAccessibilityCopyright NoticesPowered by CivicPlus