Obtaining a Title
Replacement / Duplicate Titles
The Shelby County Clerk's Office began issuing titles on most vehicles in July 1993. Replacement titles are processed and liens are also recorded in the Title Department. This has considerably reduced the time to receive a title on a vehicle. Titles are usually printed and mailed to the new owner or lien holder within two weeks of the application date. The replacement of titles and noting of liens can be processed and picked up or mailed in 3 business days. The fee to replace a title or note a lien is $13.
View and print an Application for Replacement Title
(instructions for completion are included with the form). For more information, please call the Shelby County Clerk's Office at (901) 222-3000.
Obtaining a Title Transfer or New Vehicle Title
Tennessee State law requires that any vehicle operated on the roads of Tennessee be properly titled, registered, and that appropriate sales tax be paid on the transfer of any vehicle, whether purchased from an individual or a dealership.
If an owner cannot process their motor vehicle transaction themselves, they may designate someone else to process the title and/or registration for them. The designated party must be provided with a Power of Attorney
in order to complete this transaction for the owner.
Sales taxes will be calculated as follows:
- Local Tax - 2.25% of the first $1,600 of the purchase price (maximum of $36)
- Single Article Tax - 2.75% of the amount of the purchase price between $1,600.01 and $3,200 (maximum of $44)
- State Tax - 7% of the entire purchase price
If a vehicle is purchased in another state, the owner must pay the difference in the tax rate and the current rate in the State of Tennessee in additional to the local tax.
If the vehicle was received as a gift, an Affidavit of Non-Dealer Transfers of Motor Vehicles and Boats (Gift Affidavit)
completed by both the giver and the receiver is needed. In the case of gifts, no sales tax will be due.