Chancery Court

Shelby County Courthouse for Chancery Web.jpg

**CHANCERY COURT LATEST UPDATE**
Due to the uptick in COVID-19 cases in Shelby County, Chancery Court will be returning to all virtual (Zoom) hearings beginning Monday, August 30, 2021.
 
Any scheduled in-person hearings on or after that date will be heard by video conference (Zoom) instead, unless excepted by the Chancellor on a case-by-case basis.
 
Chancery Court continues to operate under the pandemic plan approved by the Tennessee Supreme Court.  As such, if your case is granted an exception, all in-person hearings are limited to a courtroom capacity of ten (10) people and all participants must be masked and socially distanced.


Chancery Court has new guidelines for attending Zoom hearings.  Please click here to read the new guidelines.

Update for Shelby County Civil Courts:

 

Shelby County Civil Court Plan: Judge Gomes Civil Courts 

Chancery Court Specific Plan: Chancery Plan

 


On May 14, 2021, the Tennessee Supreme Court issued Order Modifying Capacity, Distancing and Facial Covering Requirements which: (1) reduced the required distance between persons in the courtroom from six feet to three feet; (2) removed courtroom capacity limits; and (3) lifted the facial covering requirement. Although the use of facial coverings will no longer be required, continued use of facial coverings in compliance with current CDC guidelines is strongly encouraged. 




Chancery Court Policy for Service by Publication:

Click Here

 

Notice:
 
Chancery Court has reopened its Rule 10 Motion Docket and the Uncontested Divorce Hearing Docket, both with a limited number available.  

You may request a date by going to the following sites:



Notice:

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, attorneys who have e-file accounts are strongly encouraged to e-file. The e-file site can be accessed at https://efile.shelbycountytn.gov. For those who need to leave pleadings for filing, signatures, etc., please feel free to leave such documents in the Dropbox directly across from the Filing Dept. If you feel that a video hearing with the Chancellor is in order, please contact the appropriate Courtroom Clerk. The staff directory is listed below.

                                                                         W. Aaron Hall 

                                                                         Clerk and Master 

 

Chancery Court Staff Directory

Part I – Chancellor Gadson W. Perry  
Kathy Stojanovic 222-3918 kathy.stojanovic@shelbycountytn.gov
Brandon Whiteley 222-3937 brandon.whiteley@shelbycountytn.gov
Part II- Chancellor Jim Kyle  
Dorothy Duckett 222-3940 dorothy.duckett@shelbycountytn.gov
William Hultman 222-3938 william.hultman@shelbycountytn.gov
Part III- Chancellor JoeDae Jenkins  
JT Hall 222-3941 jt.hall@shelbycountytn.gov
Adam Blankenship
222-3939  adam.blankenship@shelbycountytn.gov
Special Assistant/Judicial Clerk Supervisor  
Lucas Cameron-Vaughn 222-3916 lucas.cameron-vaughn@shelbycountytn.gov
Judicial Assistant for the Chancellors  
Tracy Askew 222-3936 tracy.askew@shelbycountytn.gov
Filing Department-New Lawsuits, Adoptions, Copies
Sheri Carter 222-3901 sheri.carter@shelbycountytn.gov
Sam Ginsberg 222-3931 sam.ginsberg@shelbycountytn.gov
Alex Graham 222-3932 alex.graham@shelbycountytn.gov
Cayla Hughes 222-3904 cayla.hughes@shelbycountytn.gov
Kat Minton 222-3911 kat.minton@shelbycountytn.gov
Barbara Reynolds 222-3922 barbara.reynolds@shelbycountytn.gov
Ebony Wells 222-3902 ebony.wells@shelbycountytn.gov
Accounting Department-Garnishments, Cost Bills
Carlton Brown 222-3919 carlton.brown@shelbycountytn.gov
Catherine Dear 222-3942 catherine.dear@shelbycountytn.gov
Will Ferguson 222-3934 william.ferguson@shelbycountytn.gov
Jared Ison 222-3925 jared.ison@shelbycountytn.gov
Tax Sales-Tax Sales Related Issues
Will Ferguson 222-3934 william.ferguson@shelbycountytn.gov
Dylan Holzemer 222-3915 dylan.holzemer@shelbycountytn.gov
Administration    
Karen Brasfield 222-3935 karen.brasfield@shelbycountytn.gov
Brenda Stallings 222-3912 brenda.stallings@shelbycountytn.gov


Also see:



*** Amended Policy Regarding Trial Exhibits ***    

At the conclusion of all cases, any exhibits marked at trial shall be accounted for and assembled by the parties or their counsel, presented to the Clerk and Master’s Office, and scanned into the Clerk and Master’s electronic case management system.

All original trial exhibits, including any non-paper exhibits and exhibits larger than 8-1/2 x 11 inches, shall be retained by the counsel for the party who introduced the exhibit. 

In the event the case is appealed, counsel shall be responsible for producing all of the original exhibits and delivering the original exhibits to the Clerk and Master for the appellate record. 

As needed, counsel shall reduce any exhibit larger than 8-1/2 x 11 inches to a size which the Clerk of the Appellate Court will receive. 

These procedures further apply to depositions which are not marked as exhibits but only made a part of the technical record.



----------------------------------------------------------------------

Go To Chancery Court's next tax sale:
Online Tax Sales
Go to: WWW.CIVICSOURCE.COM

----------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Declaratory judgments
  • Delinquent tax sales
  • Divorces
  • Enforcement of arbitration awards
  • Habeas corpus
  • Mandamus
  • Public nuisances
  • Removal of public officers
  • Replevins
  • Usury
  • Worker’s compensation
Note: Chancery court does not have jurisdiction to hear actions for injuries to person or character and injuries to property not resulting from a breach of contract.